News website from Central India-Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh
Free, Fair and Fearless

Government withdraws separatists' security, Hurriyat says its leaders never asked for security

Share this story on :
Kashmir  Hurriyat Conference  Syed Ali Shah Geelani  Mir Waiz Umar Farooq  Yaseen Malik  Shabir Shah




SRINAGAR: Government announced that it has withdrawn the security cover that was given to leaders of the All Party Hurriyat Conference (APHC).

The Jammu & Kashmir government took the decision in the wake of the Pulwama attack that led to killing of 40 CRPF personnel. 

The leaders include Mir Waiz Umar Farooq, Abdul Gani Bhat, Bilal Lone, Hashim Qureshi and Shabir Shah.

But, the Hurriyat has reacted and said that its leaders never asked for security. The Hurriyat Conference leader Mir Waiz Umer Farooq said that security was never sought and it was given by the government.

He said that he had asked for security to be withdrawn, himself. In a statement, he said that during Friday sermons, he had made the plea earlier. There are two other prominent Hurriyat leaders viz. Syed Ali Shah Geelani and Yaseen Malik. Ther order doesn't mention Geelani.